Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Ithaka - Saltwater Nomad

Ithaka - Saltwater Nomad (Recorded In Rio De Janeiro)

1. Ith Intro
2. Split Personality
3. A Million Light Years
4. Lust The Power Supreme
5. The Life You Wanna Live ?
6. N' Portugal
7. One Month Stand
8. I Ride 2008
9. Greencard
10. Six Years (Time To Move On)
11. The Cameraman
12. Roommates From Hell
13. Ninety-Eight In The Shade


Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Ithaka (Recording Artist) - Bio on Discogs

Source Discogs:

Ithaka was born in Southern California. The half-Greek poet, vocalist and producer lived in Lisbon for a number of years in his late-twenties until early-thirties. There in Portugal (in 1993), he wrote and recorded a poem entitled So Get Up for a program on Radio Comercial, Lisbon. He later rerecorded it for a local progressive-house music project called Underground Of Lisbon (the finished song was also called, So Get Up). It was soon released internationally on a multitude of compilations.

Until today, almost 25 years later, the track is considered one of the most important musical exports in Portugal's history. Although in fact, the lyric-writer and voice of this iconic dance music anthem is a Californian of Greek descent.

So Get Up has since been remixed and re-released over a thousand times, with some versions by large scale EDM artists such as Armin Van Buurin, Cosmic Gate, Fatboy Slim and Miss Kittin. So Get Up is the current Guinness World Record holder for most re-mixed acapella.

Also in Portugal, Ithaka recorded two award winning hip-hop albums, Flowers And The Color Of Paint (1995) and Stellafly (1997). His song, Escape From The City Of Angels (featuring Marta Dias) from the album Flowers And The Color Of Paint was featured in Antoine Fuqua's first full-length feature film entitled, The Replacement Killers (1998) starring Chow Yun Fat and Mira Sorvino

Ithaka then returned to the U.S. for a number of years where he recorded Somewhere South Of Somalia (2001) with LA producer, Conley Abrams III.
The song, What U Gotta Do, from this album was featured in the soundtrack of the hit video game NBA2K7.

He later lived in Brazil (Rio and AkahtiLândia) for over ten years where he recorded three more albums, Recorded In Rio (2004), Saltwater Nomad (2007) and Voiceless Blue Raven (2013)...and also released a collection of career highlights called Fishdaddy Flashbacks (2011) with the Indy label Sweatlodge Records.

Although rarely returning to the dance music world since recording So Get Up,
in 2007, Ithaka wrote the lyrics and vocally recorded "You" with DJ Vibe, using his poem originally entitled, We Are The Players.

In early 2017, Ithaka released a collection of acapella poems including the original pre-Underground Sound Of Lisbon 1993 demo-version of So Get Up.
The album, entitled, So Get Up & The Lost Acapellas, was compiled using lost vocal poems from 1993 and new recordings made in Mexico City in 2016.